Articles tagged ‘A. Benton Cocanougher’

A legacy of leadership, the future of research

By • November 5th, 2009 • Category: Faculty, Featured Stories, Former Students

The past, present, and future of Mays Business School were embodied in the three guests of honor as the Benton Cocanougher Chair in Business was dedicated at a luncheon on October 23. Special guests by invitation of Dean Jerry Strawser were in attendance, as well as the men of the hour: Lowry Mays \’57, founder of Clear Channel Communications and benefactor of Mays Business School; Benton Cocanougher, dean of Mays Business School from 1987 to 2001 and current dean emeritus and professor emeritus at Texas A&M; and Luis Gomez-Mejia, professor of management and inaugural holder of the Cocanougher Chair.

Cocanougher Chair dedication to be held at Mays

By • October 21st, 2009 • Category: Donors Corner, Faculty

The Benton Cocanougher Chair in Business will be dedicated this Friday, October 23, at Mays Business School. The inaugural chair holder is Luis Gomez-Mejia, professor of management. The chair was funded by a gift from the school\’s namesake, Lowry Mays \’57, who recently provided $7.5 million with matching funds to create a $12 million gift; this gift is dedicated to faculty support and will provide six faculty chairs and three eminent scholar chairs.

Peggy and Lowry Mays ’57 continue investment in Mays Business School

By • June 30th, 2009 • Category: Donors Corner, Former Students

Founder of Clear Channel Communications Lowry Mays \’57 and his wife Peggy have announced their continued support for the college that bears their name, Mays Business School at Texas A&M University. Their recent $7.5 million gift will support the creation of an endowed chair and eminent scholar chair as well as matching funds to create additional endowed positions at Mays Business School.

Mays faculty, friends named to athletic director search committee

By • October 1st, 2002 • Category: Departments, Faculty, Texas A&M

Several Mays faculty members have been named to the 11-member search committee charged with selecting Texas A&M’s new athletic director. Former Dean Benton Cocanougher — who was named a special assistant to President Robert Gates — is serving as chair of the committee.

Cocanougher receives presidential appointment

By • September 1st, 2002 • Category: Texas A&M

Former Dean Benton Cocanougher has recently been named special assistant to Texas A&M’s new president, Robert M. Gates.

Breakfast with the Deans

By • June 1st, 2001 • Category: Departments, Faculty, Students

More than 650 students and parents had the opportunity to meet Mays College administrators at the Business Student Council’s “Breakfast with the Deans.” Held in the Wehner Building during Parents’ Weekend, the event provided an opportunity for the council to welcome parents to the Mays College.

Cocanougher honored for service to College, University

By • June 1st, 2001 • Category: Faculty, Featured Stories, Texas A&M

Recent Awards Include:

Dean Emeritus status granted by the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents

Erle Nye: A True Visionary

By • May 1st, 2001 • Category: Executive Speakers, Former Students, Texas A&M

While the California energy crisis has sparked a great deal of discussion regarding deregulation, Texans can rest assured they will have energy for years to come. Thanks to visionaries like TXU Chairman and CEO Erle Nye ’59, a level playing field now exists in the energy industry, stimulating competition and growth

Strawser named to Dean Post

By • May 1st, 2001 • Category: Faculty, Featured Stories, Texas A&M

The Mays College will have new leadership starting July 1, as Dr. Jerry R. Strawser, interim dean of the C.T. Bauer College of Business at the University of Houston, has been named Dr. Benton Cocanougher’s successor as dean. The appointment is pending final approval of the Texas A&M University System Chancellor.

Mays College honors Outstanding Alumni

By • December 1st, 2000 • Category: Donors Corner, Former Students

Three former students were recently honored at the Mays College’s annual Outstanding Alumni Awards. John T. Eubanks of Grapevine and Larry Levine and John V. McNevin, both of Houston, were chosen because of outstanding contributions in their professional careers and exemplary service to their communities, said Dean Benton Cocanougher.